Fashion Doll Sketches: Fairy Tales

Last night I worked on some new Fashion doll sketches, this is big news considering I haven’t done any in awhile. I knew that I could do some great sketches, but I didn’t have any to show in my portfolio. And I really needed to add them, like immediately. I started with a Fairy Tale theme and I am really happy with the results. This really combined everything that I love, now and when I was a child. I used to read the Brother’s Grimm stories and of course watch all of the beloved Disney versions. My favorite Disney movie was The Little Mermaid. I used to watch it over and over, I also wished that I could swim like a mermaid. So it was only natural for me to want to sketch out an outfit fit for a mermaid.

I would like to expand on this theme and work on a few more styles for each doll, but when you are working with a tight schedule, you can only finish so many of your sketches before you need to catch some sleep. I will definitely be coming back to this theme and working on some more styles for each theme. I’ll also read up on some of my favorite fairy tales so that I can work on new dolls. Wouldn’t a Rumplestiltskin fashion doll be awesome? Check out my sketches below and the link to my online portfolio.

Fairy Tale: Gretel inspired Fashion Doll

 

Gretel_color_3

Fairy Tale: Little Mermaid inspired Fashion Doll

mermaid_color_2

 

Link to online Portfolio:  http://www.coroflot.com/Jacqueline_Varner/Fashion-Dolls

Yay! Go me for getting some work done! Be on the look out for more soon.

Leave a Reply

