Out the Door Outfit: Navy Polka Dots and Stripes

Hello all!

This is my very first outfit post. I have been wanting to do one of these for a few years now, I have gathered photos on my phone from previous outfits, but none have been of a good enough quality to be able to post them on here.
I am armed with a new camera, so I am going to try taking better pictures and hopefully more detailed than I used to.

Today’s outfit is special because the skirt is one that I made, well, semi-made. I transformed a halter  dress into a skirt with four box pleats, two on the front and two on the back. This skirt is perfect for summer! The fabric is a light-weight cotton seer-sucker striped fabric, making it as light and airy as can be. It is also very twirl-worthy.

Here’s a  little background on who I am: I am a Toy Designer and I work at a Freelance Toy Sculpting Studio, so my outfits can be a little more casual and quirkier than if I were to work at a Law firm. I would say that my entire outfit would be acceptable in most offices, minus the open shoes. I also try to dress modestly, with some fun pieces.

Image

Hello to you.

Image

Feeling like this outfit downplays my curves a little bit- the only thing it can’t hide is my hips 🙂

Image

Having fun posing with my hat.

Image


       Getting ready to go out with my trusty vintage Dooney & Bourke purse.

Image

Image

Whole outfit in detail. (sorry for the shaky picture, I am working on it!)

Image
This is what I am wearing; Navy and white dot cardigan from Ross, White V-neck cami from Forever21, Striped seer-sucker pale blue and white skirt-from-dress from H&M, Vegan leather Sandals from Kohls, Straw cloche hat from Sears. Watch is Seiko brand, wearing various rings; wedding bands, vintage opal and gold ring from grandma and newer rings from Sears and Forever21.

I hope you enjoyed my post as much as I enjoyed posing for the timer on the camera.

See you next time!

Leave a Reply

